A Comprehensive Guide To Women's National Basketball Association

Author: Megha


The Women's National Basketball Association, a.k.a WNBA, is a professional basketball league in the United States. It is an association of 12 teams from different regions that play several tournaments against each other. Various matches are played under the association. It starts with the regular season that is held from May to September. Then comes the All-Star game, which takes place midway through the season in July. Several other tournaments are played in between, but the year ends with WNBA Finals, usually in October. 


If you are a basketball enthusiast, then there’s a lot that you must know about the Women's National Basketball Association. In this article, we will share some vital information that will help you expand your knowledge about this sport. Read on and find out.


Women's National Basketball Association Key Information:


Sport: Basketball

Founded In: April 22, 1996; 25 years ago

Founder: David Stern

No. Of Teams: 12 

Country: United States

Headquarters: New York City

Most Titles: Houston Comets, Minnesota Lynx, Seattle Storm (4 titles each)



The NBA Board of Governors formally approved the formation of the Women's National Basketball Association on April 24, 1996. During the initial days, the association had just eight teams, i.e., The Charlotte Sting, Cleveland Rockers, Houston Comets, and New York Liberty in the Eastern Conference; and the Los Angeles Sparks, Phoenix Mercury, Sacramento Monarchs, and Utah Starzz in the Western Conference. Later in 1998, two teams, Detroit and Washington, were added to the association, and again in 1999, two more teams joined -- Orlando and Minnesota. This brought the total number of WNBA teams to 12. With time, more teams got added and some left. Today, the association has a total of 12 teams. 


Since its inception in 1996, WNBA has played various matches and has provided a platform for women to showcase their talent. It has become one of the best women’s basketball associations in the world. In 2021, the association celebrated its 25th season with a remarkable history. 


Women's National Basketball Association Teams








Head coach


Atlanta Dream

College Park, Georgia

Gateway Center Arena


Darius Taylor

Chicago Sky

Chicago, Illinois

Wintrust Arena


James Wade

Connecticut Sun

Uncasville, Connecticut

Mohegan Sun Arena


Curt Miller

Indiana Fever

Indianapolis, Indiana

Indiana Farmers Coliseum


Marianne Stanley

New York Liberty

Brooklyn, New York

Barclays Center


Walt Hopkins

Washington Mystics

Washington, D.C.

Entertainment and Sports Arena


Mike Thibault


Dallas Wings

Arlington, Texas

College Park Center


Vickie Johnson

Las Vegas Aces

Paradise, Nevada

Michelob Ultra Arena


Bill Laimbeer

Los Angeles Sparks

Los Angeles, California

Staples Center


Derek Fisher

Minnesota Lynx

Minneapolis, Minnesota

Target Center


Cheryl Reeve

Phoenix Mercury

Phoenix, Arizona

Footprint Center


Sandy Brondello

Seattle Storm

Everett, Washington

Angel of the Winds Arena


Noelle Quinn


Season Format

The Women’s National Basketball Association hosts various seasons throughout the year. Every season has a different format to the game. Here are some of the formats of the major seasons:


Regular Season Format-

Every year, the NBA hosts a training camp in May. It is the time when coaching staff prepares their players for better performance in regular-season games. Later in the same month, the regular season begins in which each Women's National Basketball Association team plays 36 games. Every team in the regular season plays three in-conference teams four times, and the rest plays in-conference teams three times. During the entire season, every team is required to host and visit other teams at least once. 


This is the regular season format; however, when Summer Olympic games are held, there’s one month off for players to prepare for the matches.


WNBA All-Star Game Format-

The association held the first-ever all-star game in 1999. In this, the best players of the Eastern Conference go against the best players of the Western Conference. In July, the regular season is paused for the WNBA All-Star Game. It is a weeklong event that is packed with fun and excitement. 


WNBA Commissioner's Cup Format-

The Commissioner's Cup was supposed to debut in the 2020 season. It is an in-season tournament where the first home and away games were to be counted as cup games and played in the first half of the season. Once each team plays 10 Cup games, the top team is selected from each conference's Cup and promoted to Commissioner's Cup Final. The final game is a single match played in August. 


WNBA Playoffs Format-

WNBA Playoffs begin in late September. Talking about the format, it is played among the eight best teams of the regular Women's National Basketball Association tournament. In the Playoffs, the higher the rank of the team, the more advantages they will get. The first two teams get double byes, and the following two teams get first-round byes. In short, the higher team gets the significant benefit of going against the weaker team. 


WNBA Finals Format-

The WNBA Finals is a best-of-five series between the two semifinal winners. It takes place every year with no fixed date. However, this year, it is all set to take place in October. Whichever team wins the finals, each member will get a championship ring. Also, WNBA Finals Most Valuable Player Award will be presented to the best player. 


Women's National Basketball Association Key Dates

Below given are some critical dates for the rest of the WNBA season 2021. 


- October 3, 2021: Semifinals Game 3

- October 6, 2021: Semifinals Game 4

- October 8, 2021: Semifinals Game 5

- October 10, 2021: Finals Game 1

- October 13, 2021: Finals Game 2

- October 15, 2021: Finals Game 3

- October 17, 2021: Finals Game 4

- October 19, 2021: Finals Game 5 – Last Possible Finals Date


Frequently Asked Questions


Q1. Where can I buy Women's National Basketball Association games tickets?

Ans. If you are interested in watching WNBA teams live, you can buy tickets from the individual team website or the WNBA official website.


Q2. How many games does one WNBA season have? 

Ans. In the regular Women's National Basketball Association season, 36 games are played. However, with the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic and an Olympic break, there were 32 games this year. Out of 32, 16 matches will be played at home and 16 on the road. 


Q3. Where can I get the latest updates about WNBA?

Ans. You must move to the official website to stay updated with the latest news, schedules, and information on WNBA. You can also download the Women's National Basketball Association mobile app, which is available for both iOS and Android. WNBA is also active on social media platforms like Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Snapchat.


Q4. Which WNBA team has the maximum number of titles?

Ans. The Minnesota Lynx and now-defunct Houston Comets are the Women's National Basketball Association teams with the most titles in league history. The Comets have won four WNBA titles consistently in 1997, 1998, 1999, and 2000.






Ranking the All-Time Best NBA Players: Who Comes Out On Top?
The Most Common Basketball Mistakes You Should Avoid
Choosing Indoor vs. Outdoor Basketball: Which is Better?
Tips To Improve Basketball Skills For Beginners
The Game That Changed the World: The History of Basketball
A Collection of Fascinating Basketball Facts You Didn't Know
How to Shoot: Basketball Shooting Tips and Tricks
Sportsreviews Articles
Sportsreviews Videos